suntzuanime

A thoughtful response to current anime.

Hanasaku Iroha – Episode 7

Let’s try the next episode of Hanasaku Iroha, hoping for more wonderful slice-of-lifey stuff. This show has really excellent characters, I don’t know why it feels the need to include plot elements that only distract from them. Speaking of things distracting from the characters, I wonder if Ohana and the others are still going to be wearing those old outfits in this episode? I liked the usual waitress uniform better. Or else she could go back to her manual labor tracksuit, that was also nice. Well, however she’s dressed, I’m sure she’ll still be enjoyable to watch in episode 7 of Hanasaku Iroha.

…thirty minutes pass…

I think that's supposed to be a look of admiration on the girls, but they really look like they have been possessed by soul-devouring monsters from the Abyss.

Well, this episode had a lot of plot in it.  But it was plot that developed characters, rather than plot that was inserted because the author felt like the characters needed something to do.  I guess the other plot I’ve complained about developed characters too.  Ok, it was plot that was good, instead of bad.  There.  The plot could have gone to cliche territory, and indeed it was not hard to predict how Tomoe’s plan was going to turn out, but the addition of the survival gamers kept things seeming fresh.  Survival gamers are not, to me, a cliched plot element, so this was quite a good episode, in my eyes.

I was really happy to get a more thorough exploration of  Tomoe’s character.  She had been there in the background, and ever time she would do something I would be like “hey, she’s cute!  I hope we see more of her”.  In this episode we saw more of her.  Unfortunately the author probably now considers her obligations to Tomoe discharged, and we will never see her again.  Ah well.  It has been said, the light that burns twice as bright burns half as long.  And she was truly shining, in this episode.

Leave a comment