suntzuanime

A thoughtful response to current anime.

Winter Anime Season 2014 – 140 Characters and Nothing’s On

The new winter season has already started and I have hardly even looked at what’s airing. I have been neglecting anime in favor of posting about anime on Twitter.  But if I wanted to post about anime, that is what this blog is for! What’s so great about Twitter, anyway? I can write 140 character snippets just as easily on a blog. So with that in mind, I am going to “livetweet” watching the promos for the new season’s anime.  This is done without watching any actual episodes, so feel free to laugh at how wrong I am!  If you want a handy reference, moetron.com has compiled one here.  Title translations are my own amateur efforts but do not count toward the 140 character limit.

Saikin Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiin daga (My Little Sister Has Been Acting Kinda Weird Lately): Lewder than your average sisterfucker anime and that’s saying something. I bet the sexual harassment fairy makes this unwatchable.

Witch Craft Works: The academy for “witches” looks exactly like any other Japanese highschool and none of the “witches” cast any spells that I could see.

Space Dandy: Too slick for its own good. This is premiering (has premiered) in America, which means it’s probably ruined by filthy Western influences.

Noragami (Stray God): Chuunibyou but cool and I like the art. Trickster gods are the coolest gods, I hope somebody ends up killed by a sprig of mistletoe.

Buddy Complex: Looks exactly like every indistinguishable Gundam nonsense anime ever.

Nobunaga the Fool: I am not as “into” Nobunaga as the Japanese are. This time they put him in a mecha show, and, well, I mean, sure?

Super Sonico: Her hair is the right shade of pink and she tries hard. Perhaps that will be enough.

Nobunagun: I am not as “into” Nobunaga as the Japanese are. This time they put him in an anthropomorphic guns show, and, well, I mean, sure?

Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta (Love Song to a Certain Pilot): Dogfighting in WW1 fighter planes is cool as heck. I hope it’s good like the original Last Exile and not bad like the sequel.

D-Frag: Girls being wacky is great, and even better if one of them has pink hair. Leery of comedies that don’t put jokes in their promos though.

Hamatora: Same story that’s been told a million times, but this time the superpowers are called “Minimum”. At least it looks pretty.

Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai 2 (Even Though I’m Chuunibyou I Want to Fall in Love 2): I liked it fine the first time, and maybe they’re done with the dumb drama now?

Pupa: Is it actually coming out this time? I guess my opinion hasn’t changed since when it was supposed to be a Fall show.

Mahou Sensou (Magic Wars): Female lead looks like Shakugan no Shana and I’m guessing that’s not a coincidence. She’s got a gun instead of a sword though.

Sakura Trick (Cherry Blossom Trick): I like the character designs but they’re probably going to be wasted on low budget yuri nonsense.

Houzuki no Reitetsu (Houzuki is Levelheaded): Might be too Japanese for me to get the jokes. I guess loud wackiness is a universal language, but it’s not a very funny one.

Mikakunin de Shinkoukei (Unidentified and Progressing): I liked the energy in the promos. I didn’t like the younger sister, but there seemed to be lots of other characters that I could like.

Nourin (Agriculture and Forestry): I do not really find farming all that interesting. You can intersperse it with fanservice, but I doubt that will be enough.

Wake Up, Girls: Just a generic idol show, but they still got a reference to the Sengoku Jidai in there. If Nobunaga starts singing pop songs I’ll die.

Nisekoi (Fake Love): It’s Shaft so I have to watch it, but the animation looks like crap and the plot sounds like West Side Story without the cool songs.

Sekai Seifuku ~Bouryaku no Zvezda~ (World Conquest ~Zvezda the Trickster~): Not enough information has been revealed to draw a conclusion, from which I draw the conclusion that they have nothing worth showing off.

Wizard Barristers: Benmashi Cecil (Wizard Barristers: Mage-lawyer Cecil): Way too much automatic gunfire in the promos. Wizard lawyers should fight by shouting “Arcane objection!” and “Magical take that!”.

Inari, Kon-Kon, Koi Iroha (Inari, Fox Noise, The Basics of Love [TL Note: English is impoverished and does not have a standard thing that a fox says, but in Japanese, it’s “kon-kon”]): A worse Red Data Girl, and Red Data Girl wasn’t good. When will girls learn to solve their own problems instead of praying to God?

So I’m excited to watch Noragami, Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta, Pupa, and Mikakunin de Shinkoukei, and I’ll probably also check out Super Sonico, D-Frag, Mahou Sensou, 2Chuu2Koi, Nisekoi, and Wizard Barristers. Maybe a couple of the others if I hear good hype about them, but there’s probably 3-4 worthwhile shows lurking in that list, plus Golden Time continuing from last season, so  I probably won’t be too hard up for stuff to watch. Expect a threshing post about those shows in about a week and a half.

Leave a Reply

