suntzuanime

A thoughtful response to current anime.

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia – Episode 1

I don’t remember what Tasogare Otome X Amnesia was supposed to be about.  Maybe I’m suffering from the titular “X Amnesia”!  But it’s on my list, so let’s watch the first episode anyway.  If it helps “tasogare” means “twilight” and “otome” means “maiden”.

…thirty minutes pass…

What's scarier, a ghost or a geography quiz?

Oh, right, this was one of the shows this season about a school paranormal investigation club, and one of the shows this season about a dude who wants to bang an undead chick. Well, I didn’t like this episode, but I think I’m going to keep watching the show.  They tried to do something clever, and made the first eight minutes be a series of mysterious events and then the next eight minutes were a replay with the mysterious events explained, but the events were not mysterious enough and I had pretty much figured everything out by the end of the first eight minutes.  Which meant that the next eight minutes were just a long, boring repetition of things I’d already seen. Truly, an endless eight.

But I applaud them for trying to do something clever, and the characters seem fun, or at least what we’ve seen of them.  I guess the male lead sort of seems like a typical spineless harem protagonist, but the titular Twilight Maiden is cool, she’s taking her ghosthood a lot better than people usually do.  Maybe the amnesia helps?  You can’t weep forever about how you were betrayed and murdered if you don’t remember it. And I like her rival, the clueless occult-insensitive girl, for being so clueless and occult-insensitive.  She reminds me of the female lead from Ghost Hunt, which is probably my favorite paranormal investigation anime (if Shiki doesn’t count).  Her character traits might start to grate if the show keeps making the same joke about her not being able to see the ghost and thus misinterpreting the things people say to the ghost as being addressed to her, but hopefully they can keep things changed up.  I guess there was a third girl?  I dunno, she didn’t really do much except sigh at how lovey-dovey the protagonist and the ghost were getting.

So this seems like a nice, light, paranormal harem comedy. There’s a million ways it could go wrong, but I’ll be optimistic and keep watching.

Bonus Image Corner:

To be fair if I were a ghost I would spend all day trolling people too.

 

One response to “Tasogare Otome x Amnesia – Episode 1

  1. Kat April 12, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Good post. I see potential in this series. I also love the last picture :3

Leave a Reply

