suntzuanime

A thoughtful response to current anime.

Kami-sama no Memo-chou – Episode 1

I’ve been putting off Kami-sama no Memo-chou because the first episode is a full hour long, and I sort of suspect that’s longer than my attention span. There’s a reason I write an anime blog and not, say, a movie blog, or a classic literature blog. But people are saying it’s good, and that’d be a relief, given how bad Yuru Yuri was and how bad people say R-15 is. I don’t want to put the pressure on Usagi Drop to carry the whole season. Maybe I could check out that penguin show people are taking about? Well, all that comes after episode 1 of Kami-sama no Memo-chou.

…sixty  minutes pass…

It's official: Dr Pepper is the new Pizza Hut.

Yeah, I can definitely see why they went with an hour-long first episode here.  It took 10-15 minutes for them to find their stride, get their characters introduced and set things up.  If the first episode had been mostly that, I might have given up on the show.  The bits after they introduced Alice worked a lot better.  It’s really sad that they feel like they have to focalize things through the bland, spineless Narumi rather than just letting Alice be the POV character, or at least one of her marginally interesting retainers.  Or they could have had Narumi already working for her, so we didn’t have to spend ten utterly bland minutes introducing him to her.  Ah well.

I’m getting sort of a Shigofumi vibe from this show.  They both feature softspoken young girls as protagonists who say it’s their responsibility to give voice to the dead.   Fumiko is cuter than Alice, but Alice is more talkative, and she has a unique perspective on a lot of things, so I figure it’s a wash.  The two shows also both seem willing to tackle Societal Issues like teen prostitution (although Shigofumi went quite a bit further than this show has so far), and they both have a mystery quality about them.  I liked Shigofumi, I hope to like this show.  3/4 for Summer.

One thing that does bother me is how she calls herself a “NEET Detective”.  I guess etymology isn’t destiny, but she seems plenty Employed to me.  Maybe she isn’t getting paid for her work?  I think that if she takes other people’s requests for which they would be willing to pay, but doesn’t accept pay, that would count as charity work, rather than a hobby, and probably make her not qualify as a NEET.  I guess she can’t call herself a hikkikomori detective, since she occasionally goes out on missions.  That’s another thing that bothered me, actually.  I had been under the impression that the thing about her was that she did her detective work all without leaving her room, through the magic of the internet.  I felt betrayed when she made a housecall at the end of the episode.  Well, that’s what I get for trusting previews, I guess.

Leave a Reply

