suntzuanime

A thoughtful response to current anime.

Summer Anime Season 2011 – Continuation of the Dream

I’m going to be blogging most of the same stuff this summer as I was in the spring: SKET Dance, Steins;Gate, and Hanasaku Iroha are all continuing another season, and at the pace GotWoot has been putting out Denpa Onna subs it will probably take them all summer to finish it, too.  Summer is traditionally a weak season for anime, and this season does not look to be an exception, but here are a few shows that look like they might be worth checking out:

Usagi Drop (Rabbit Drop): A Sudden Child Appearance anime, looks like it will be along the lines of Aishiteruze Baby or Kurenai, or maybe even Michiko to Hatchin if they end up going on motorcycle adventures across Brazil.  Could be enjoyable.

Yuru Yuri (Leisure): It’s yet another four girl moe slice of life show.  You can’t really tell if they’ll be any good without watching an episode, because the writing matters so much.  The title also punningly suggests lesbian romance among the girls, which might or might not be a good indicator.  Really nothing for it but to watch an episode or two.  

R-15 (the Japanese equivalent of PG-13): It’s a comedy about a high-school student who has a side job writing erotic literature.  Kind of reminds me of the premise to Doujin Work, which is one of my favorite light comedies.  The protagonist in that was a high school student in the original manga, she got changed into a college student for the anime for some reason.  Anyway, high hopes for this one, hope it doesn’t turn into some random ecchi comedy.

Kami-sama no Memo-chou (God’s Memo Book): A genius girl detective hides in her room and solves mysteries through her assistant who I assume will be the requisite spineless male lead.  I was burned recently with GOSICK, but I’m not inherently opposed to mystery anime and the art style looks nice.

Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu 2 (The Idiot and the Test and the Summoned Being 2): Continuation of BakaTest, which I enjoyed.

Five shows, BakaTest should be a gimme.  I’m gonna guess I’ll end up following Usagi Drop and R-15 and not the other two, but who knows.  I might pick up something else if it starts getting rave reviews from everybody, or if someone wants to tell me something obvious I’ve missed.

 

3 responses to “Summer Anime Season 2011 – Continuation of the Dream

  1. HumpyWumpy July 7, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    I will let you know if anything is notable outside of these, locus :salute:

  2. tomphile July 7, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Weak season? Seems like a pretty good one to me.

    • suntzuanime July 8, 2011 at 2:15 am

      I’m just going by the number of shows that immediately catch my eye, five from this season as opposed to 11 from last season, and no sure bets like TWGOK and Kaiji. BakaTest is good, but it’s not at the level of those two shows.

Leave a Reply

